Spinach Cheese Cakes

This is a lazy post.  Not because I’ve been lazy – quite the opposite, actually.  I’ve been extremely busy – in the best possible way! – hence no recent posts.  I’ve been completely obsessed with capoeira, which takes up 2-3 of my weeknights, and of course I’m still volunteering in therapeutic horseback riding…but now I’m up to five hours every Sunday.  It doesn’t feel like a chore though, since they’re both things that feed my soul.  All my remaining free time is taken up with my awesome friends and fantastic boyfriend.  And sometimes laundry.  Sometimes.  So yeah, life is good…but busy!

Anyway.  This recipe is pretty easy, so long as you have a real food processor like a real person and don’t have to hand-chop spinach before attempting to really annihilate it with an immersion blender.  Side note: using an immersion blender on a huge bowl of spinach will look, feel and sound like you’re doing yard work.  But other than that it’s an easy recipe.  I like having a little stash to eat with tomato soup and crusty bread, or you can make them for party apps.  I bet they’d also freeze well for those SUPER lazy days!  The best part is you pack almost a pound of spinach and a ton of protein into indulgent-feeling food.

Spinach Cheese Cakes (adapted from Eating Well)

  • 12 ounces (2 bunches) spinach, or you can add in/substitute some kale or other greens
  • heaping 1/2 cup low-fat cottage cheese (low-sodium, if you can!)
  • 1/2 cup shredded parmesan
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 2 eggs
  • salt and pepper to taste

Like I said, you start this recipe by chopping the spinach and other leafy greens in a food processor, or, if you’re me, you painstakingly hand-chop the leaves before attempting to finish this off with a hand blender.  I bet you could just hand-chop these though if you don’t have any sort of automatic implement.

So this becomes this:

Then pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees and spray a nonstick muffin tin.  In a small bowl, lightly beat your two eggs together.  Then, in your big bowl o’ spinach, add the rest of your ingredients: the cheeses, egg, garlic and spices.

Stir together the ingredients, then fill your muffin tins as full as you can get them (at least level to the top).  Depending on how much spinach you used, you’ll get between 8 and 12 cakes (I got 11, but I threw in some leftover kale on top of the 12 ounces of spinach).

That one lil’ empty cup looks lonely.  Bake the cakes until set, about 20 minutes.  They’ll bake waaay down and the edges will just barely start to brown.  Remove from the tin and let cool.  They were a little wet when I took them out, I’l assuming because a.) my spinach was still a little moist from washing and/or b.) I didn’t attempt to drain it.  I just stored them in a large tupperware between paper towels to soak up the extra moisture.  Serve warm with any meal that needs a boost of veggies and protein, or eat them as a healthy (50-calorie-each) snack!

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Spinach Cheese Cakes

  1. Aghh, these look delicious, must get a food processor now! Using kale also sounds interesting, I love kale but have trouble finding alternate preparations besides simple steaming in a pot.

Leave a Reply

