*Enter Pithy Title Here*

I have an idea.  I mean I have lots of ideas, but I have an idea I want to share with you for the blog.  I’ve been really slacking on meditating lately, even though I do occasionally ruminate on meditative principles or read lessons.  But as for the real deal, slow-it-all-down, focus on the present meditation meditation, I haven’t been doing as much as I should.  So, to help guide me in this – and everywhere else, for that matter – I’ve decided that one day a week I’m going to pick a quote, concept or lesson to meditate on formally, and to keep in mind informally for the week.  I want it to be things that will inspire, improve and teach, and maybe sometimes just things that are worth thinking about.  The sure-to-be-clever title will come when I’ve decided on a set day for this, but for now I’m keeping it loose.

And therefore, on this Saturday, the fourteenth of January, my first quote for the week shall be:

“It is no measure of health to be well-adjusted to a profoundly sick society.”

                                             -Jiddu Krishnamurti, Indian thinker and philosopher

I’ve liked this quote for quite sometime, but it’s been speaking to me especially loudly in the past few days.  I watched a Food Network special on food waste (nothing new to me, after seeing I Love Trash and Dive!, both about dumpster diving and food waste), which was a poignant reminder of not only how much we waste in our present industrial food system, but also a reminder of how absolutely terrified we all seem to be of the world around us.  Bruised fruit?  Irregular eggs?  Fallen corn stalks?  No! When did we become so afraid of everything outside our crisp, clean, perfect expectations (silly question…we’ve always been afraid.  But still.)?

I was also flipping through the latest issue of Glamour magazine to arrive at my door, courtesy of a long-standing Christmas gift from my grandmother.  As I was reading what used to be a fun, if not mindless, indulgence, all I could think was, I don’t CARE about the four latest ways to style my hair, or which nail polish men like most.  All of a sudden the words on the page seemed so painfully empty that it wasn’t even mindless entertainment anymore, it was jut garbage (sorry, Grandma). Don’t peddle your wares and insecurities to me, America.

Of course I’ve always known that neither of these things were really indicators of a fully healthy society, but lately it’s become harder and harder to live with them.  Same goes for my mother’s attitudes about tattoos (I’m going to have gross wrinkly skin anyway in 60 years, who cares if there’s ink on it?  It’s only a body!) and a lot of my own views on money (security is a fleeting illusion at best).  So this week I’m going to make a more conscious effort to see the things in my life that are indicative of a sick society and make a conscious effort to change them, either in practice or mindset.  I feel better already.

 

P.S. Weekly meditation is on The List, which I’m clearly still working on.  However, I did go to my first volunteer training today at The Right Step therapeutic riding program, and man oh man did it feel good.  It felt like coming home.  It’s so clearly something I love to do, something that feeds my soul – why did I stay away so long??

Leave a comment

Filed under 24 Before 25

Leave a Reply

