Spicy Poached Egg Nest

Three posts in four days!  Apparently I am back in the kitchen with a vengeance.

I spent all day today snacking on chips and chocolate and swearing – swearing – that I am going to start being healthy tomorrow. But I mean it this time.  No, really…

To (sort of) make up for my junk food fest today, I decided to make something healthy and creative for dinner (because there is NOTHING healthy nor creative about packaged foods).  I was inspired by a recipe for field peas with kale and sweet potatoes I found in my awesome new Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home cookbook I got for Christmas.  What I came up with is pretty different from the original recipe, but the idea is still there: protein, kale and sweet potatoes cut by a spicy condiment.  Only mine is an egg poached in the kale, with a chili-yogurt sauce. Weird, I know, but delicious.

Spicy Poached Egg with Kale and Sweet Potatoes

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • about 4 cups raw kale, torn
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon nonfat plain yogurt
  • 1-2 teaspoons chili sauce
  • olive oil
  • sriracha
  • salt, pepper and paprika to taste
  • caramelized onions (optional)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Peel and chop the sweet potato, and toss in a baking dish with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until the potato is tender.

In the meantime, remove the stems/ribs from your kale and tear or roughly chop until you have about 4 cups.  It’ll look like a lot but it’s only one serving!  Then again, I might love kale more than you.  Spray a large skillet or pan with olive oil cooking spray and add about a quarter cup of water.  Put the kale in the pan, cover with a lid and let it sautee/steam (is there a name for this cooking method?) for about 5 minutes, or until the leaves start to wilt.

Add a little salt, pepper and paprika and toss with the kale as it cooks.  When it’s beginning to wilt down, pile it in the middle of the pan and make a hole in the middle.  Crack an egg in this hole and cover again to poach the egg, about 5-7 minutes more.

Considering the kale and egg will only take 15 minutes tops, try to start this about halfway through your sweet potato cooking time if possible.  While the egg poaches, stir the yogurt and chili sauce (I used a store-bought sauce, or you can just use sriracha) together and add pepper and paprika if you want.  When the egg is done, use a large spatula to get under the whole nest and ease it onto a plate in one go.  It should hold together pretty easily.  Top with about half the sweet potatoes (you’ll have leftovers) and chili-yogurt sauce, plus some sriracha if you really like spice (and I do!).

I also garnished with a little caramelized onion jam, since the Moosewood recipe called for onions and I thought the sweetness might pair well with the earthy kale and spicy sauce.  I don’t know if the actual caramelized onion jam was my favorite, but some straightforward sauteed or caramelized onions or shallots might be good.

It’s a little off the wall, I know, but trust me, it’s really good.  The Moosewood cookbook might be my new favorite – so interesting, healthy and, clearly, inspirational!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

