Vegan Maple-Pecan Cookies…Almost

So here’s a not-so-secret fact of life: sometimes things don’t turn out like you planned.  Now here’s a top-secret fact of life: that’s okay.  Breathe.  Everything will be okay.  You can make a new batch of cookies, you can fix the stain in the carpet, sometimes you can even change jobs or move back home or start physical therapy.  Big or small, nothing is permanent. Remember that.

Now about those cookies.  Lately I’ve been totally obsessed with the vegan maple-pecan cookies at Whole Foods, which only have like six or seven ingredients.  Flour, oats, pecans, maple syrup, salt, canola oil, vanilla.  Something like that.  Shouldn’t be too hard to recreate, right?  Except, silly me, I tried to make the recipe healthy and instead of crumbly, nutty, autumnal cookies I wound up with awkward, chewy (but still delicious) little nuggets.  Trial and error, people, trial and error.

At least they look good, right?  I know I can play with the recipe a little and turn them into a.) killer cookies or b.) delicious chewy granola bars.  My recipe, in case you want it, is this:

Weirdly Chewy Maple-Pecan Cookies

  • 1 cup flour (I did half whole wheat and half white)
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup chopped raw pecans
  • 3/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tablespoons flax meal
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
Mix the flour, oats, pecans and flax meal in a bowl.  In another bowl mix the remaining ingredients, and blend the two.  Press tablespoons-full onto a cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes.  Makes about 20 cookies at 110 calories apiece…they’re healthy, but undeniably strange to eat.
So there you have it.  I’m going to perfect it, mind you.  My greatest mistake was substituting applesauce for the oil, and possibly using wheat flours instead of spelt.  But to tweak it into granola bars, I’m going to add raisins or dates, maybe millet, maybe switch in some pumpkin, and bake it in a dish.  I’ll keep you updated.  In the meantime, remember that you don’t need to take things too seriously – all is well!
2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Vegan Maple-Pecan Cookies…Almost

  1. Sonia

    I just bought one of those cookies from Whole Foods yesterday. I ate it today and was in HEAVEN, I saved the package because I loved it so much that I too, wanted to try and duplicate them. Decided to go online to see if I could find the recipe and came across yours. Laughed out loud as soon as I saw your reference to Whole Foods! I’m going to try it too. I am hoping for success! Thank you for posting your recipe. I’ll use it as a starting point too.

Leave a Reply

