Halloween, Finally

Oh hai.  Happy Very-Late-Halloween.  And happy November.  Today was absolutely beautiful in Denver, with leaves falling and snow melting and crows crowing.  All I could think about was Thanksgiving and making maple pecan scones and butternut squash galettes.  The shift from spooky nights to holiday joy has officially begun (because, you know, I’m the one with the final say in all that).

But about Halloween.  That happened.  I was there.  I wasn’t a cat wearing Kitten Mittens, like I planned…it turns out leotards are terrifyingly unflattering and should never be worn by me EVER.  Instead I was the Son of Man by Magritte, which is fitting since I’m a big ol’ art history nerd.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Of course I also carved the pumpkin I got from the pumpkin patch.  And everyone knows that when you carve a pumpkin, that means you also get to roast pumpkin seeds.

I drew that pattern myself!  As for the seeds, I made two kinds: one salty-sweet, and the other savory.  As usual, these recipes are to taste and the amounts can be easily varied.

Sweet and Salty Pumpkin Seeds

  • 2 cups pumpkin seeds
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1/2 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
Savory Pumpkin Seeds
  • 2 cups pumpkin seeds
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1-2 teaspoons chili powder
  • salt to taste
For each of these, rinse your pumpkin seeds well and remove all the stringy pumpkin bits you can.  Toss all the ingredients together well, and spread on a baking sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for about a half hour or until the seeds start turning toasty brown, stirring occasionally.
And…that’s about it!  I’m sorry I’m not more of a meticulous, exact recipe-giver, but I really believe there’s a lot of wiggle room in cooking.  Also you may have noticed a head of actual garlic in my ingredients photo.  DO NOT use garlic.  I didn’t have any garlic powder so I minced some real garlic, which turned out to be a mistake – it cooked a lot more quickly than the pumpkin seeds and gave everything a kind of burnt flavor.  Yuck.  But see?  You try and sometimes you fail but that’s how you learn.
Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

