Pumpkin Cookies

Hot dang, it’s been too long!  I apologize for the uber-crazy time between posts, sometimes life gets in the way.   Sometimes the Great American Beer Fest happens and you discover Mexican Chocolate Stout.  What??  Yeah, that’s a thing.

Anyway, I hope you’re in full autumn mode like I am, because all you’re going to hear about for the next two months is PUMPKIN.  Maybe some apple and cinnamon and nutmeg, too.  But mostly pumpkin.  Like these pumpkin chocolate chip cookies that my mom always used to make around Halloween time when I was a kid.  I don’t even know where the recipe came from; it’s handwritten in one of those old home recipe books with splotches and butter stains all over them.   Side note: this is also the book where she keeps her secret peanut brittle recipe that even I don’t know how to make.

It took me a long time before I attempted to make these cookies on my own.  You know how some things are only so amazingly good because someone else always makes them for you?  And you only get them like once a year?  That’s how these cookies were for me.  That and this potato soup my mom ONLY makes on Halloween.  Then I came to my senses and realized these cookies are too fantastic to wait for,  so I started making them…but still only in the fall.  Obviously.

Pumpkin Cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar*
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 heaping teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips OR
  • 1/2 cup walnuts and 1/2 cup dried sweetened cranberries
*I found you can remove a quarter cup of sugar from just about any recipe and it’s still fine.
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Cream the butter and sugar together, then beat in the egg, pumpkin and vanilla.
In a separate bowl, blend the remaining dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices.  Then blend this into the wet mixture.  Stir in the add-ins: chocolate chips/walnuts/cranberries/whatever.  The original recipe calls for chocolate chips, but really any experimentation would be good in these cookies.  I like to divide my dough and put a half cup of chocolate chips into two thirds of the dough, and a quarter cup each of walnuts and cranberries into the other third.
Drop teaspoonfuls of dough onto a cookie sheet about an inch or two apart; smallish (1 1/2 inch) cookies don’t spread that much, but leave more room if you want them bigger.  Bake for 12-14 minutes, until the “peaks” of dough just start to brown.
My batch made about 45 cookies at around 90 calories apiece.  They taste like crisp days and warm scarves and trick-or-treating.  You should make double batches.  Give them to everyone you know.  Give them to yourself.  A LOT.  That’s how you know it’s autumn.
1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Pumpkin Cookies

  1. Pingback: Caramelized Onion Kale Salad | The Indie Domestic

Leave a Reply

