Portobello Spinach Pasta with Red Wine Sauce

I’m writing about food again.  I know.  I KNOW.  It’s like all I ever do anymore, right?  I even have a list of non-food things I can tell you about, like good hostess gifts and upcycled jewelry and homemade aprons…okay, that last one is still kind of food-related.  Whatevs.  It’s  my blog, and right now I’m all jazzed up about food.

The thing is, last week my friend Christine and I (you remember her, right?  Awesome Christine of Home, Made?) went to the farmer’s market in Cherry Creek.

This is a really good farmer’s market.  Tons of fresh bread and waaay too many free samples.  Why yes, of course I’ll try your $14 infused olive oil.  And that cheese.  And that gluten-free muffin.

There’s also lots of really amazing produce.  I don’t know about you, but I think it’s more important – and more responsible – to eat local even before eating organic.  Of course when you can have both that’s pretty sweet, but I’m not gonna go into a Whole Foods and feel good buying organic tomatoes from Chile.  I’m just not.  Farmer’s markets, though, that’s the real deal.

I’m getting preachy though.  The point is, among lots of other produce (hel-lo, Palisade peaches!) I wound up spending way too much money on some portobello mushrooms.  Except I don’t really know what to do with portobello mushrooms.  Do I even like portobello mushrooms?  Sometimes people grill them, right?  Sometimes people burn them on the grill.  I shouldn’t do that.

So that’s why I had to write another food post: I came up with this amazing recipe for my portobello mushrooms and I’m so proud of myself that I had to let you know.  It’s not just pride, though; you’ll really like this recipe.  I want you to try it, and I want you to love it like I do.  Go to your local farmer’s market and get the things to make it:

Portobello Spinach Pasta with Red Wine Sauce

  • 6 oz. whole grain farfalle pasta (or spaghettini…or whatever)
  • 8 oz. medium portobellos
  • 1/2 onion
  • 3-4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tomato
  • 3 oz. baby spinach
  • 1-2 tbsp.  fresh sage
  • 1 c red wine
  • 1-2 tbsp. flour
  • 1/2 c grated parmesan
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil

First things first: salt your water and boil your pasta to your liking, about 10-12 minutes.  Start prepping your other ingredients as the water comes to a boil.  Clean the mushrooms by wiping them gently with a paper towel, then remove the stems and scrape out the gills with a spoon.  Slice these, slice the onion, and chop the garlic.

Saute the garlic and onion in a large skillet until just turning tender, then add the mushrooms.  Continue sauteeing until the mushrooms begin to soften (a few minutes).  In the meantime, whisk together the red wine and flour in a bowl.  I left the amount of flour as a variable, but I think I used about a tablespoon and a half; just enough to help the sauce thicken in the pan.

When your mushroom start to break down, add the red wine mixture to the pan and cook until the sauce begins to thicken, stirring frequently.

After a few minutes the sauce should be less winey and more…well…saucy.  Add the diced tomato, baby spinach and chopped sage, and stir these in until the spinach begins to wilt and the tomatoes just barely start to break down.  Now’s when you can add some salt and pepper too, if you want.

Oh!  And don’t forget about your pasta!  When it’s done to your liking, drain the water without rinsing and return the pasta to the pot.  Then, when your veggies are cooked but not desecrated, add them to the warm pasta along with about a half cup of grated parmesan and stir it all up into a big dish of melty goodness.

Then…you’re done!  Serve it up with some red wine and a garnish of parm and sage – it makes about three servings.  If you have guests you might want to add some bread or a simple green salad, but if you’re like me you don’t have to be so fancy.  It’s delicious on its own, super savory with the red wine and mushroom flavors but complimented by the brightness of the sage and tomato and the salty parmesan.  Perfect.  Impressive.  I’m allowed to be proud, right?  You’ll be proud of yourself, too!

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Portobello Spinach Pasta with Red Wine Sauce

  1. Christine

    Love this post! And it almost makes me want to eat a mushroom. Now that’s something to be proud of.

Leave a Reply

