5-Minute Chocolate Cake in a Mug

I feel like, before I go ahead with this recipe, I need to issue a warning: this recipe is dangerous.  It’s way too easy, way too convenient and perhaps just a little too indulgent (the cake base on its own is about 400 calories).  You might find yourself whipping up this cake far too often for your own good, so proceed with caution.

Image

On the other hand, this cake might be your best friend on days you really need a quick boost of warm chocolate without going to the store or spending an hour baking a cake.  In fact, you can make this little gem in five minutes flat, I guarantee it (I don’t actually guarantee it).  It’s especially nice on snow days with coffee, and it would totally impress an unexpected guest – most if not all of the ingredients are probably in your kitchen anyway!  If you don’t believe how easy it is, go ahead and give it a try.  But know the awesome addictive power of a five-minute cake.

5-Minute Chocolate Cake in a Mug (adapted from The Family Kitchen)

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tablespoons plain yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon water (or a bit more if needed)
  • optional: sea salt, chopped walnuts, cinnamon and cayenne pepper, salted caramel candy, instant coffee, peanut butter…?

In a small bowl (think soup bowl sized), mix your mandatory chocolate cake ingredients.  All of them.  Seriously, just throw that stuff together and stir away.  If you’re adding in something that will fill the whole cake, stir it in now: a small handful of chopped nuts, a quarter teaspoon each of cinnamon and chili, a half teaspoon maybe of instant coffee powder?  Not all of them of course.  Don’t be greedy.  Pick a theme, you can always make another one later.

Image

Then grease or spray a regular-sized coffee mug (something around 12 ounces) and pour the batter into the mug.  If you’re adding something that isn’t incorporated into the whole cake batter, pop it in now: drop a couple caramel candies in the center, swirl in a tablespoon of peanut butter, top with crushed pretzels or sprinkle with sea salt.

Image

Finally, microwave your mug of goodness for one-and-a-half to two minutes on high power.  The mug will be hot, so remove it carefully and let cool a minute.  Then…indulge.  It’s really that easy.  And addictive. Beware!

Image

5 Comments

Filed under Food

5 responses to “5-Minute Chocolate Cake in a Mug

  1. Veronika

    I have seen the 5-minute idea before, and as I do not own a microwave, have frankly wondered two things:

    One, would it work in the oven, if I popped the mug into a preheated oven for say 5-10 minutes – what do you think? And two, which isn’t really to do with the previous question, but more with my own curiosity – does it really come out cake-textured, or does microwaving impact the texture to be more “rubbery” the way it often does with starch?

    P.S. It looks fantastic. It looks like it tastes fantastic too. I think I should be happy that I don’t own a microwave… ;)

  2. Kat

    Hey! I don’t know if it’d work in an oven – give it a try and let me know! At worst you’ve wasted a quarter cup of flour. As for the texture, it’s actually very cakey – moist and fluffy. I suppose it might be a teensy bit more “rubbery” than traditional cake, but only if you really over-microwave it. Trust me, I’m equally amazed that I can pop a mug into the microwave and come out with legit cake!

  3. Veronika

    I did it! I adjusted it for what I had at home and egg-white allergic boyfriend and stuck it into an oven that preheated while I mixed it. And you know what, it’s fantastic! Tastes like a good expensive brownie! I’ve added a couple of squares of dark chocolate shaved on a cheese grater, a tablespoon of oil, and 1/5 of a teaspoon of baking soda, and substituted egg whites (used 1 egg yolk for 2 mugs) and yogurt with sourmilk (filmjölk, a Scandinavian dairy product that’s like something between yogurt and buttermilk).

    I baked it in large coffee mugs, because after I doubled the recipe (that WAS for one mug, right?), it looked like too much for my smaller mugs. So ok, it’s no longer 5 minutes if not using a microwave, but only about 5 of those are spent making any sort of effort, it bakes through in 15 minutes at 190C with fan, and the texture is gooorgeous, with a cracked sugary crust on top and chocolatey goodness inside! Thank you! I will probably blog about it at some point and link to you if you do not mind!

  4. Hey, I came across your blog just now and have to say that these mini souffle/cakes are the best! I make them all the time. And maybe their simplicity isn’t always the best in terms of measuring waistlines, but when it comes to happiness they are true winners!

  5. Veronika

    Just thought I’d leave you a note – it’s been nearly a year since I had first made this cake, and having gone back to bake it today, I realized that I lost the recipe for your mug cake – in a panic, I searched all over the net till I found it again! No other variation I’d made worked nearly as well!

Leave a Reply

