All About It: Because I Say So

If I had to give one illustration to show how I’ve been feeling lately, it would be this:  for the past couple of weeks, off and on, I’ve been binge-snacking on unsalted bread.  Seriously.  True story.  Sad, sad true story.  That pretty much sums it up, too: my life has been feeling dull, plain, and pathetically out of control.  But today was different.  Today I felt the wise words of my acquaintance Carolina coming on: “Fuck it!”

Carolina is an architect from Sao Paulo, Brazil, whom I met in a hostel in Paris back in 2008.  We went out to a wine bar and ate decadent desserts and drank a bottle of Syrah and talked politics while Moby played in the background. Carolina was pretty great, but the greatest thing about her was that every time she did something wrong or embarrassing she would simply say “Fuck it!” and move on.  It’s a really lovely sentiment, if you think about it; who cares if you bump the table or spill your creme anglaise?  Can’t take it back, might as well get over it.

My point is, in a roundabout way the Gospel of Fuck It has reinvigorated my appreciation of…well…me.  Less worry, more loving things and doing things simply because I want to.  I’m taking back control, dammit.  First I pulled weeds, now I’m planting flowers.

So, in that vein, here’s my (really really belated) All About It post:


1. Washi tape

I know I’m not a trendsetter in the Japanese washi tape craze, but I’m jumping on the bandwagon now and I’m kind of obsessed.  I just bought some here and I especially like this post for making Japanese washi tape magnets.

2. Doppelganger myths

This goes along with my love of the book The Muse Asylum by David Czuchlewski and, yes, a little bit with How I Met Your Mother.  In most cultures the doppelganger is a bad omen or an incarnation of death.  I’m fascinated by the idea of a person’s double, and all the layers of similarities in actions, memories and thoughts that different cultures attribute to these double-walkers.  It’s a really interesting idea of identity and individuality…and how spooky would it be to see your own doppelganger??

3. Thai food

Nothing revolutionary here, I just can’t get enough curry or rice noodles.  This could get problematic.

4. Edie Sedgwick

Okay, I guess this started when my coworker wanted to start planning my birthday party (yes, five months in advance) and I suggested a pop art/Factory theme.  I don’t really know that much about the scene, but I’ve since become fascinated with Edie Sedgwick…which is weird because I totally don’t get into that celebrity watching stuff, and she was basically the Paris Hilton of her day.  I like to romanticize the trendsetting, art world, fuck-all aspects of those black and white photos, but then I’m also struck with the harsh color world of reality and the fact that she lived a tortured and probably unhappy life.  Still, the idealized carefree girl is still refreshing to me right now.

5. Gang documentaries

This isn’t really a new thing for me, but Frontline put out a really good one on Valentine’s Day (yes, this is how I spent that day…along with my boo, some Thai food and some really good beer.  Win!).  Crips and Bloods: Made in America is another good one.  I realize it’s kind of a morbid fascination with something so far removed from my own life (except for the kids I sometimes work with – sad), but I think it’s a good perspective and definitely makes me reconsider my own judgments.

So there you have it.  No pictures yet since I’m about to be late to capoeira, but I’ll try to post some later.  These things are awesome…because I say they are.

1 Comment

Filed under All About It

One response to “All About It: Because I Say So

  1. Hey Indie Kat – I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award because I think your blog is great! Keep it up (:
    http://insatiably.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/to-versatile-blogger-award/
    Cheers
    Natalie

Leave a Reply

