Pulling Weeds

Starting tomorrow I’m pulling weeds in my life.  You know, the things and people that choke out all the good stuff in your life and leech sunlight and new opportunities from you.  I’m seeing less of toxic friends and cutting out bad habits (sadly, I’ve fallen back into a samsara cycle – but tomorrow it’s getting the boot for good!).  I’m moving froward in my professional life and hopefully kicking my old work environment to the curb in the near(ish) future.  I’m letting go of needless worry and giving people more compliments.  I’m still going to watch bad TV online.  Don’t judge.

See, things have been really good lately.  I am so in love (again, don’t judge.  Trust me I know how cheesy it is), I’m doing meaningful volunteer work that feeds my soul and I’m exploring new things all the time.  Unfortunately I’ve also been depriving myself of sleep in the name of all that awesomeness and falling into a lot of old, negative ways.  Even this blog has gotten a little stale…it’s okay, I know the writing is hurried and the pictures are sub-par.  But recognizing those things is the first step toward change, and I certainly don’t want to lose sight of the amazing things for all the petty not-so-amazing things.  So I’m pulling those weeds.  I’m going to re-focus on my health, show people more love than negativity and stop spending much energy on anything that doesn’t contribute to happiness.  And I’m doing it right NOW.  See you on the other side!

 

Oh, P.S.  I’ve stopped the clean eating for now.  I know it seems counterintuitive to stop eating clean when I just said I was going to re-focus on my health, but after trying it for several weeks I realized it was having the opposite effect that I wanted; it was making me think MORE about food and in turn sparking more cravings and more massive fails.  The idea was go get back in touch with my body and what I want, and it pumped too much thought and too little feel into the process.  I might try it again in the future, but for now, it’ll go on a shelf.  It’s kind of a weed.

1 Comment

Filed under Life and Style

One response to “Pulling Weeds

  1. Veronika

    I call this sort of process a “mental housecleaning” – going through the attics of my mind and self and tossing out old junk, things I do not want anymore, people I don’t want wandering through my life, and the like.

    And, every time I do it, it makes me feel better – to think of it, just like normal housecleaning, and that feeling of aaaaaah! that you get when you are finally done.

    So good luck on your pulling weeds adventure!

Leave a Reply

