Catching Up and Pumpkin Pancakes

Don’t say it.  I know already.  I didn’t post yesterday for All About Mondays.  Apparently I’m incapable of sticking to an ed-cal.  *Sigh*

In short form, I am currently all about:

1. The Suzan.  Awesome Japanese riot girl band that mixed addictive beats with a pop-jungle vibe.  I especially love Come Come and Home.

2. Pho.  Specifically, vegetarian pho.  This Vietnamese noodle soup is traditionally made with beef, but there are a couple good places in Denver that have veggie varieties – broth included.  A huge, spicy bowl of soup is perfect for a cold day – and it’s supposed to snow tonight!

3. Smitten Kitchen.  I know, everyone and their mom has heard of this site already.  I hadn’t.  I just found it.  I love it.

4. Arsenic and Old Lace.  Cary Grant?  Yes please.  This Halloween movie is absolutely  hilarious, in a classic, clever way.  I can’t even say how much I adore this movie – one of my seasonal favorites.  Plus I love the nostalgia and romance, as you know, of eras in which I never lived.

5. Old-fashioned candy.  Like Bit ‘O Honey and burnt peanuts and Charleston Chews.  Again, my tendency to romanticize bygone eras is at play here, but I always do that around the holidays and this particular holiday includes a lot of candy.  Okay, so most of it is made with corn syrup and refined such-and-such, but I feel cooler eating Jordan almonds than I do eating a Snickers.  …Except I also like Snickers.  Shut up, judgey.

And now, ladies and gents (probably just ladies): the real post.  It’s about pumpkins (surprise!).  Have I told you yet how much I love pumpkins? Because I DO.

This past Friday my friends and I went to a pumpkin patch.  Like a legit pumpkin patch, where you go out in the field and cut your pumpkin on the vine and then go pet goats and draft horses and run around in corn.  (You remember Christine, right?  She was there taking awesome photos, as usual.  She took the photo above.  This is her below.)

It was a gorgeous fall day and so much fun.  Now I have to decide what to carve in my pumpkin.  Last year it was a zombie cat…maybe this year it should be something REALLY scary, like a Republican in the White House.

Anyway.  I’m also excited to roast up some pumpkin seeds, which I’ll post about.  But my latest pumpkin creation has been pumpkin pancakes with apple-maple compote, which I got from Shutterbean, who got it from Honey and Jam, who apparently got it from 101 Cookbooks.  They are, in a word, fantastic, and the perfect ending to a weekend that included all my favorite autumn things: the pumpkin patch, the annual Denver Zombie Crawl, and watching Arsenic and Old Lace with a boy I like a lot.

(That’s him.  And me, of course.  Christine took the photo.)

Pumpkin Pancakes (adapted from Honey and Jam)

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 tablespoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 tablespoon allspice
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter

Combine the dry ingredients, then stir or beat in the buttermilk, eggs, pumpkin and butter.  Pour onto a well-buttered pan; flip when the edges start to look dry and bubbly.

Apple-Maple Compote (adapted from Honey and Jam)

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 semi-tart apple (like a Gala), sliced
  • cinnamon
  • pure maple syrup

Melt the butter in a small sautee or sauce pan, and add apple slices.  Sprinkle with cinnamon to taste, and sautee until apples just begin to soften, stirring often.  When the apples are al dente, add enough maple syrup to coat or cover the apples (again, to taste) and satuee a couple minutes more, until apples are to your liking.  Spoon over pancakes – the extra syrup at the bottom will be extra buttery and a little caramelized!

So perfect.  Just…amazing.  I can’t imagine a better breakfast in the fall.  Next up: pumpkin carving, pumpkin seeds, homemade gift ideas, budget updates…and more?

1 Comment

Filed under All About It, Food

One response to “Catching Up and Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. wowzers! those pancakes look fab. love your pumpkin pics too! :)

Leave a Reply

